News Richard Craill March 2, 2023 (Comments off) (496)

Australian Formula Open season launches at Winton

THE first full season of the all-new Australian Formula Open (AFO) series commences this week at Winton Motor Raceway, racing with the New South Wales State Championship round at the country Victorian venue.

Racing in partnership with the NSW Formula Race Car Association, a 21-strong field of ‘wings and slicks’ open wheelers has been drawn to Winton across Formula 3, Formula 4 and other invited cars.

It commences the first full year of the new category, which launched with a more than 30-strong field at last year’s Island Magic event in November.

AFO incorporates Formula 3, Formula 4, Formula Toyota / Renault and other invited ‘wings and slicks’ cars in a unified series.

The 2023 Australian Formula Open (AFO) Champion will receive a fully funded test in a Tim Macrow Racing-prepared S5000 and free entry to their first round of any subsequent S5000 campaign.

The series will this year be known as Australian Formula Open powered by RaceFuels, with the noted Victorian-based fuel suppliers backing the category in its foundation year.

RaceFuels will offer awards to winners in both the AFO 1 Class, for outright cars, and AFO 4, which is dedicated to Formula 4 cars in a bid to offer local progression through the ranks.

Five cars, including entries from Tim Macrow Racing and AGI Sport, are confirmed in the AFO 4 class initially with more expected as the season continues.

Queensland real estate firm, All Properties Group, will offer $500 to the polesitter at each round in a continuation of their support of open wheel racing in Australia.

The Winton grid is highly competitive with a host of young, rising stars ready to make their mark.

Queensland-based Gilmour Racing will field Daniel Price in their Dallara, While Ryan Astley is expected to be quick in his 99 Motorsport F3 car.

Tim Macrow Racing fields karting graduate Winston Van Laarhoven, Ryan How and Trent Grubel in a trio of Dallara’s, plus Hanming Huang in a Mygale F4.

AGI Sport has entered juniors Tim Boydle, Craig McLatchey, Mark Wilson and Kristian Janev in their fleet of F3 entries.

The opening round of the Australian Formula Open powered by RaceFuels Championship commences this Friday with official practice, before qualifying and racing across Saturday and Sunday at Winton Raceway.


Race #Name & VehicleSponsor
1Daniel Price
Dallara F308/11
Gilmour Racing
2Andrew Roberts
Dallara F307
R-Tek Motorsport Services
16Hanming Huang
Mygale M14_F4
Tim Macrow Racing
17Shayne Morrow
Dallara F3
21Graeme Holmes
Dallara 2004
CO Machining
22Winston Van Laarhoven
Dallara F308/11
Tim Macrow Racing
23Lawrence Katsidis
Dallara F304
Sydney Photo Booth
25Robert Sviderskas
Cheetah Mk7
27Ryan How
Dallara F308/11
Tim Macrow Racing
38Rod Anderson
Reynard 893
40Tim Boydle
Mygale F4
AGI Sport
41Greg Muddle
Dallara F307
Formula Race Car Association
48Ronald Coath
Dallara F3
51Nathan Beer
Renault FR2000
Formula Race Cars Association
55Glenn Lynch
Dallara 397
FRCA / Formula Race Car Association
56Douglas Barry
Reynard 92d F4000
Douglas Barry Specials
62Craig McLatchey
Tatuus F4
AGI Sports
71Mark Wilson
Mygale F4
AGI Sport
74Trent Grubel
Dallara F312
Tim Macrow Racing
77Kristian Janev
Mygle F4
99Ryan Astley
Dallara F308/11
99 Motorsport

You might also like!


Porsche Champs Celebrated

November 29, 2023

Hedge Seals the Deal

November 26, 2023