News Mark Walker September 25, 2022 (Comments off) (458)

Vic State: Phillip Island Report & Pics

Some mega racing and photo finishes rounded out the fifth and final round of the Victorian State Circuit Racing Championships at Phillip Island over the weekend.

The Formula Fords went full Formula Ford, which unlike going full Super2, is exceptional.

In the opener it was Kobi Williams from Matthew Hillyer and Edison Beswick, while the second race was an all-time classic, with Beswick leading home Hillyer and Jordyn Sinni in a three-wide photo finish, with only 0.0629sec separating the trio.

The third heat was cut short due to time constraints, with Hillyer victorious from Beswick and Williams, with only 0.0282sec splitting the latter pair.

Richard Davison swept the Kent-powered class for the weekend, claiming the title, adding to the heritage of his family’s storied Van Diemen RF95.

The Formula Vee races were similarly brilliant, with three and four-wide racing being the order of the event, with a single-bed blanket capable of covering the lead pack throughout.

In the opener the order was Daniel Reynolds from Jake Rowe and Reef McCarthy, race two went to McCarthy from Rowe and Andre Curin, while the third heat saw Reynolds victorious from Rowe, with Heath Collinson claiming third and the state title by only 0.0134sec, with he, McCarthy and Curin three wide at the stripe.

Elsewhere, the Hyundai Excels provided some champagne entertainment.

Toby Waghorn led home Bradley James and William Seal in the opener, with incredible scenes breaking out when Ryan Phillips hooked together with James Lodge at the top of the pit straight, with the duo stuck together train wreck style for 290m.

James took the second race from Hugo Simpson, who wrapped up the state title, with Seal third, while Waghorn lost ground after dropping off track at Lukey Heights as the field rounded up lapped traffic.

Waghorn’s day didn’t improve in the last race with on off on the last lap in the Southern Loop, with the time-certain race going to Simpson.

Behind him, there was a Talladega-spec finish for the minors, with Charlie Nash, Timothy Colombrita, Seal and Lodge covered by only 0.0941sec.

The HQ Holdens continued on with the tight but clean racing that has been a feature of their 2022 campaign.

After resisting a challenge from Rod Raatjes in the opening stages of race one, Andrew Magilton claimed the opening hit out, with Raatjes retiring mid-race.

Raatjes bounced back to win both of the Sunday races, moving into the lead with a three-wide pass at the start of the final circuit of the morning encounter, while Perry Bekkers and Ryan Woods were in the thick of the podium action all weekend long, with Andrew McLeod getting up for second in the finale.

Ben Schoots finished the Sports Car season with a clean sweep of the race wins for the season, with the Bulgarian-made SIN R1 romping to a pair of Island wins in its VSRS swansong.

For the minor placings, Andrew Hall (Porsche) led home the Audi R8LMS of Michael Kokkinos in race one, with the positions reversed in the feature-length 40min Sunday race.

The Porsche 944s were once again in the thick of the action.

While the results sheets finished with a trio of James Westaway-Cameron Beller one-twos, the storylines kicked off when the opening race was aborted after the initial attempt at a start turned into a dog’s breakfast.

The second race witnessed one of the biggest hits of the weekend, when Andy Tudor went off after making avoiding action around a spun car on the way into turn two, while Toni Andreevski survived a lurid spin onto the front straight in race three.

In the other spec-class, the BMW E30s featured mixed podiums throughout.

The first race saw Jeremy Payne lead home Alex Jory and Brian Bourke, race two went to Jesse Bryan from Jory and Simon Shiff, with the third race seeing Jory, Bryan and Shiff fill the podium spots.

The Shawn Jamieson romp continued in the Saloon Cars, with the South Aussie registering another three wins as Commodores dominated the top of the order.

Adam Lowndes, Daniel Johnson and Scott Dornan mixed up the podium places – Dornan led Jamieson early in the final race, before dropping to fifth, trailing smoke.

Meanwhile, in the Improved Production cars, there was similarly a Holden domination at the front of the field, with Adam Poole, heading home Jarrod Tonks and Luke Grech-Cumbo in all three races.

In the Sports Sedans, Tony Groves led home Disco Stu Eustice in the opening race aboard their MARC Mazdas, before their positions switched in race two, with Groves striking back to claim the final.

Greg Lynch (Commodore) finished third in the opener, the position claimed by Francois Habib (Commodore) in race two, who stepped up to register second in race three from Eustice.

The biggest drama of the finale came when John Ippolito spun after contact with Ben McLeod in the Southern Loop.

A smaller than usual field of Historic Touring Cars witnessed a battle of attrition.

Darren Collins (Camaro) led home Andrew Lane (Mustang) and Glenn Miles (Charger) in race one, Lane won the second race from Miles and Trevor Talbot (Camaro), with Talbot winning the third race from Lane and Miles.

Circuit racing returns to the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit with Island Magic from November 28-29.

You might also like!